Thanks!

Just wanted to say thanks to all the people who have posted positive comments here or on the official STO forums, sent me messages in-game, linked to the site from their own blogs, recommended it to their friends or fleet-mates, or just come along to take a look. The response to The Engines Cannae’ Take It! has been much larger – and much more positive – than I expected, and all the kind words and encouragement are very much appreciated.

I’m glad that so many of you seem to have found the articles helpful or interesting. I have an ever-growing list of things I plan to cover, but if there’s anything that you would particularly like to see, just let me know and I’ll see what I can do.

Thanks again, everyone. 😉

4 Responses to Thanks!

  1. Adventurer Historian says:

    Dude, you totally deserve it. Your info is the best out there!

  2. Great site and write ups! Do you have any thoughts on the Quantum verse Photon torpedos or how beneficial Disrupter Arrays are? I’m a Science officer flying in a Science vesel and not sure if I should swap out a torpedo or phaser for a disrupter or what…

    I go by Moist@MGHurston in game.

    • BigBadB says:

      I’m going to try to get an article together covering the basics of weapons, but until I get the chance…

      As far as I know, the only real difference between phaser and disruptor weapons is in their special effects – phasers have a small chance to disable one of the opponent’s systems (weapons, shields, engine or auxiliary) for a few seconds, while disruptors have a small chance to reduce the target’s damage resistance for a short time.

      With quantums vs photons, it’s really a question of burst vs dps damage. Quantums fire more slowly but each torpedo hits harder, while photons fire more often, but don’t hit for quite as much. If you can keep a target in front of you, then, photons will do more damage over time, but when you only have the time to fire a single salvo, quantums will take more advantage of it. It really comes down to play style and the capabilities of your ship.

  3. John Mattos says:

    I agree, excellent well thought out write ups. Great job and thank you for your efforts!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

